CRUTCH
A crutch is something you lean on when you’re hurt or weak. It can be a physical crutch you use because you broke your leg or a friend you depend on a bit too much when you’re having a tough time.
A medical crutch is a device that helps you walk when you’re injured. A psychological crutch helps you when you need it, or think you do. Medical crutches come in pairs and have soft pads that fit under your arms and handles to help you rest your body weight on them. Other types of crutches fit securely around the lower part of your arm. The Old English root word is cycle, “staff,” and the figurative meaning dates from about 1600.

What is your crutch? Is prayer your crutch or have you made man your crutch?

Let’s look at some verses where the Psalmist made God his crutch/source to lean in and upon when he felt helpless to walk alone. Surely God is my help; the Lord is the one who sustains me. Psalm 37:17 For the arms of the wicked will be broken, But the LORD sustains the righteous. Psalm 37:24 When he falls, he will not be hurled headlong, Because the LORD is the One who holds his hand. Psalm 37:40 The LORD helps them and delivers them; He delivers them from the wicked and saves them, Because they take refuge in Him. Psalm 41:12 As for me, You uphold me in my integrity, And You set me in Your presence forever. Psalm 118:7 The LORD is for me among those who help me; Therefore I will look with satisfaction on those who hate me. Psalm 119:116 Sustain me according to Your word, that I may live; And do not let me be ashamed of my hope. Psalm 145:14 The LORD sustains all who fall And raises up all who are bowed down. Make God The Father your helper and ask him to sustain you daily in all your untakings. Rely upon his word.

